Honorary Committee

Jadwiga Czartoryska

Krystian Zimerman

Daniel Barenboim

Paul Van Nevel

Jean Tubery

Alain Duault

Paweł Łukaszewski

Jacek Kaspszyk




Generations XVIII “Polish-American”

Warsaw, October 25th-27th, 2014

in honor of the 90th anniversary of Andrzej Markowski’s birth

and the 70th anniversary of the Polish Composers’ Union

October 25th

Witold Lutosławski Concert Studio of the Polish Radio, Warsaw


Tadeusz Baird Colas Breugnon, suite in the old style for string orchestra and flute (1951)

Kazimierz Serocki Sinfonietta for two string orchestras (1956)

Tomasz Sikorski Holzwege for orchestra (1972)

Andrzej Panufnik Concerto for Cello and Orchestra (1991)

Bolesław Szabelski Toccata from Suite op. 10 for orchestra (1938)

Leonard Bernstein Overture to ‘Candide’ , 2014, 7 p.m. concert version (1956)


Steven Honigberg – cello

Steven Honigberg

Steven Honigberg

AUKSO Chamber Orchestra of the City of Tychy

Marek Moś – conductor

Marek Mos

Marek Moś

October 26th

University of Warsaw Library Bogumił Linde Hall

Kenneth Slowik

Artistic Director of the Smithsonian Chamber Music Society Three Washington, DC Music Venues at Mid-Century: the Smithsonian Institution, the Library of Congress, and Dumbarton Oaks. A lecture illustrated by slides and film clips, including fragments of the documentary presenting the performance of Aaron Copland’s Appalachian Spring Ballet choreographed by Martha Graham. , 2014, 3.30 p.m. Washington, D.C.’s most famous venue for symphony and opera productions is the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts. But the story of music in the U.S. capital cannot be told without reference to three important chamber music venues: the Smithsonian, Dumbarton Oaks, and the Library of Congress. In this richly-illustrated lecture, conductor Kenneth Slowik, Artistic Director of the Smithsonian Chamber Music Society, provides insights into the musical activities of each of these remarkable Washington institutions, documenting the genesis of Igor Stravinsky’s ‘Dumbarton Oaks’ Concerto and the collaboration between composer Aaron Copland and choreographer Martha Graham which produced the iconic American ballet Appalachian Spring.

October 27th

Witold Lutosławski Concert Studio of the Polish Radio, Warsaw , 2014, 7 p.m.


Grażyna Bacewicz Overture for symphony orchestra (1943)

Charles Ives The Unanswered question for chamber orchestra (1908)

Lowell Liebermann Concerto for Flute and Orchestra Op. 39 (1992)

Igor Strawiński Concerto in E flat ‘Dumbarton Oaks’ for chamber orchestra (1937-1938)

Aaron Copland Appalachian Spring – Suite for orchestra (1944)


Jadwiga Kotnowska – flute

Jadwiga Kotnowska

Jadwiga Kotnowska

The Polish Sinfonia Iuventus Orchestra

Kenneth Slowik – conductor

Kenneth Slowik

Kenneth Slowik


Andrzej Markowski Foundation, Smithsonian Institution, Polish Composers’ Union ZAiKS Authors’ Association Channel 2 of the Polish Radio


Institute of Musicology of the University of Warsaw, Warsaw University Library, The Polish Sinfonia Iuventus Orchestra, AUKSO Chamber Orchestra of the City of Tychy,, Upper Silesian Agency for Entrepreneurship and Development

The Triptych is co-financed by:

the Minister of Culture and National Heritage of the Republic od Poland, the City of Warsaw

The organizers express their gratitude for the financial assistance and commitment offered by:

U.S. Embassy Warsaw, Chopin Foundation of the United States, Deutsche Bank Polska, Hotel Sofitel Warsaw Victoria, Miller Canfield

media patron:

Polish Music Information Centre POLMIC


Comments are closed.